Skip to content

Bono

April 4, 2009
Bono: Ambassador for Christ

Bono: Ambassador for Christ

My favorite band of all-time has to be U2.  Bold, thought provoking lyrics mixed with an amazing sound.  I listen to them almost everyday.  Anyways, Bono and his journey of faith certainly makes for an interesting discussion.  Here are some quotes from Bono about various spiritual matters throughout the years:

Bono on the Point of Christ:

“…The point of the death of Christ is that Christ took on the sins of the world, so that what we put out did not come back to us, and that our sinful nature does not reap the obvious death. That’s the point. It should keep us humbled… It’s not our own good works that get us through the gates of Heaven.”

Bono on Grace:

“..And yet, along comes this idea called Grace to upend all that “as you reap, so will you sow” stuff. Grace defies reason and logic. Love interrupts, if you like, the consequences of your actions, which in my case is very good news indeed, because I’ve done a lot of stupid stuff.I’m holding out for Grace. I’m holding out that Jesus took my sins onto the Cross, because I know who I am, and I hope I don’t have to depend on my own religiosity.”

Bono on who Christ is:

“Christ says, No. I’m not saying I’m a teacher, don’t call me teacher. I’m not saying I’m a prophet. I’m saying: “I’m the Messiah.” I’m saying: “I am God incarnate.”  And people say: No, no, please, just be a prophet. A prophet we can take. You’re a bit eccentric. We’ve had John the Baptist eating locusts and wild honey, we can handle that. But don’t mention the “M” word! Because, you know, we’re gonna have to crucify you.  And he goes: No, no, I know you’re expecting me to come back with an army and set you free from these creeps, but actually I am the Messiah.  At this point, everyone starts staring at their shoes, and says: Oh, my God, he gonna keep saying this.So what you’re left with is either Christ was who He said He was—the Messiah—or a complete nutcase.”



2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 2:52 PM

    “Is there a time for different colors?
    Different names you find it hard to spell

    Is there a time for first communion?
    A time for east 17?
    Is there a time to turn to mecca?”
    – U2, Miss Sarajevo
    Bono is definitely a Christian, but he has an open mind. He recognizes that there are other paths to truth.

    • andyholz1 permalink*
      May 10, 2010 9:59 AM

      What do you mean by “other paths to truth”?

Leave a Reply

