Skip to content

This One Got Me

May 8, 2009

Dr. John Piper

Dr. John Piper

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:21

I would like you to meet Dr. John Piper. A dear friend of mine (although I have never met him).  You will be hearing much more about and from Dr. Piper in this blog in the future.  Below is a video from him that crumbled the very foundations of how I have lived my life for a VERY long time.  I hope that it does the same for you.  What is the thing that you treasure more then Christ?  What is your “football”?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Gnaritas permalink
    May 8, 2009 11:51 AM

    Although your aim is admirable, ask yourself this question. Would you let all your beliefs be challenged by someone whose goal was to anger or upset you? “Some of you might not like this one too much. That is the goal…”

    Also, that’s a lot of empty seats in the background…

    • nbliss16 permalink
      May 8, 2009 11:59 AM

      I think the clip adresses this very question. Maybe you should watch it again.

      Also, the background is the stage behind Dr. Piper. The audience is in front of him and I can assure you the seats were very full…

      =)

  2. Andy permalink*
    May 8, 2009 2:40 PM

    Gnaritas,
    You seem to slightly change the meaning of Piper’s intention by using synonyms. I don’t think the aim was to anger people, but even so, let’s say it is. That is still not grounds to discount truth. No matter the speaker’s intention, truth is still truth. And, yes, I have had my beliefs challenged by someone whose goal was to anger me. When I was a freshmen in high school I made a bonehead play at 2nd base. The coach got in my face and chewed me out in front of the whole team and the crowd. It angered me, and I do believe that was his goal. It motivated me and it changed my beliefs. I’m pretty sure I played well the rest of the game, or at least it got me focused.

    • Gnaritas permalink
      May 8, 2009 6:35 PM

      My comments had nothing to do with Piper, but moreso those of nbliss. And while I appreciate the analogy you try to make, what specific beliefs were changed?

      Every year at my campus an outspoken “christian” came and mocked people for drinking, living in sin, etc.. etc… He would challenge students to intelligent debate, but the rules of the debate were set by him and constantly changed.

      The message of love and acceptance is a good one. I’m at least willing to listen to anyone pushing this idea. Even saying “I love you as a person, but hate your actions…” is a worthy argument. But the man that came to my campus did nothing to further his faith, and I believe he pushed people away from it.

      So I stand by what I initially said, that no one can have their views changed by anger.

      • nbliss16 permalink
        May 8, 2009 8:39 PM

        The issue of how I worded my facebook status was a addressed in the comments between Matt and I, but let me elaborate a little further.

        I don’t believe what I said was in anger. Its first purpose was to spark interest, which I would say mission accomplished.

        But its main purpose was that I deeply love my friends and family and it genuinely hurts my heart to see them confused, in pain, and caught up in sin. I know that what they need is not behavior modification or circumstance changes. With everything within me, every bone in my body, I know that what they are longing for is Jesus. And I feel it my duty to tell them about it. That is the love. Will it upset some of them because it could cause the life patterns and pursuits they have spent their lives chasing shattered and that may hurt a little? I think that is fair to say. But I believe Psalm 51:17. I believe Romans 5:8 (which is the ultimate picture of acceptance). That is what I was ultimately getting at.

        Gnaritas shoot me an email if you want to talk some more. We must be facebook friends already (I think I have a pretty good idea of who you are – do we have the same name?). nathan.bliss@cox.com

  3. MGeske84 permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:40 PM

    Why is the goal of the post to have people offended by it?

    • nbliss16 permalink
      May 8, 2009 2:48 PM

      Not sure where you are getting the word “offened” from. If you are refering to my facebook status, I said that “some of you might not like this one too much. That is the goal” What I meant by that was to say that it may challange you and the way that you live your life. That is what the aim of it was.

      Is that what you were refering too?

      • MGeske84 permalink
        May 8, 2009 2:50 PM

        well you said “some of you might not like this one too much, ‘that is the goal'” From that I see that the goal of the post is to offend someone that may not like the post. I can see where you meant it to be a challenge to those people, but I interpreted it wrong.

      • nbliss16 permalink
        May 8, 2009 3:18 PM

        **I can’t get this comment to appear in the correct order –sorry**
        **It was a reply to Matt’s comment made at 2:50**

        I think it was to challenge them (much in the spirit of Matthew 6:21 and what Dr. Piper says in the clip) without being offensive. And to spark some interest too. I guess it worked…

  4. MGeske84 permalink
    May 8, 2009 3:05 PM

    Well it doesn’t really need to change my perspective, I am a christian. It was your wording that sparked my interest.

    • nbliss16 permalink
      May 8, 2009 3:14 PM

      When you say “it” doesn’t need to change your prospective, are you referring to the video? For the sake of clarity, I think it would be wise to say that I by no means believe that I am perfect in this area (idolatry). I speak as a man continually being changed by the gospel…

  5. May 8, 2009 7:21 PM

    Gnaritas,
    In reference to my story: the belief of mine that was changed was that I was too good for the coach to yell at me (never a good idea to think that way). I was proven wrong.

Leave a Reply

