Skip to content

I Would Not Be Surprised

May 11, 2009
u2-1

U2

Magnificent

I was born
I was born to be with you
In this space and time
After that and ever after I haven’t had a clue
Only to break rhyme
This foolishness can leave a heart black and blue

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love can heal such a scar

I was born
I was born to sing for you
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And sing whatever song you wanted me to
I give you back my voice
From the womb my first cry, it was a joyful noise …

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love can heal such a scar

Justified till we die, you and I will magnify
The Magnificent
Magnificent

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love unites our hearts

Justified till we die, you and I will magnify
The Magnificent
Magnificent
Magnificent

I would not be surprised if when we get to heaven, U2 will be there at the gates playing this song for Jesus. What an unbelievable song…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy permalink*
    May 11, 2009 11:39 AM

    Not saying you’re wrong, but I just wanted you to make sure you covered your bases.

    http://www.cdomaha.com/blog/?p=50

    http://www.cdomaha.com/blog/?p=46

  2. May 11, 2009 10:43 PM

    I like U2, but do you remember this song?

    What’s that one all about? The lyrics are probably very intriguing, but I remember watching this video as a kid and thinking these guys were weirdos. They are rock stars, however, so they have license to pull crap like this and still be cool.

  3. nbliss16 permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:10 AM

    Here is a quote about the idea behind this song:

    “The Edge explained that writing the lyrics “came very quickly and tapped into many of the ideas behind Zoo TV, the sense that we were being bombarded by so much information that you find yourself shutting down and unable to respond.”

    Now, I would agree that this is not their most shining moment also but I will give you a sports analogy.

    Randy Moss is widely considered one of the greatest Wide Recievers in the NFL (I would go as far as to say top 3 in the past 10 years). Well for as great as Randy Moss is and has been, he had a season with the Raiders in 2006 where he only had 553 yards and 3 touchdowns. That doesn’t mean he still isn’t one of the best WR’s in the NFL during that time, he just had a bad year.

    Thats kind of how I would classify this song and the whole Zooropa album. A bad “season” for what was otherwise a great career (although that album did win a grammy as the best Alternative Music Album – go figure. It just did have a “hit single” if you will…).

  4. Andy permalink*
    May 12, 2009 11:00 AM

    I agree. I actually like when groups take a risk and go against the grain of their typical genre. Power to U2 for trying this. Now I’ll have to listen to the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

