Skip to content

John Piper on the Prosperity “gospel”

May 18, 2009

money shirt

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 1st John 2:15

No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money. Matthew 6:24

The following is a video put together from a John Piper sermon containing some of his thoughts on the prosperity gospel.

I recall watching it for the first time taking up his tone and becoming angry with how many friends and family have bought into so many lies with respect to what Christianity is and what life is about.  But the more I think about it and consider what he says, I think about the ways that I have also bought into this lie.  And in the midst of asking God to root much of this out of me so that I might be transformed and desire him more, guess what he has done: he has.  He has changed me.

So that is my desire for you.  Consider what he says.  What are the ways that you have bought in?  Is living for yourself and getting all that you want out of life really what all this is about? I’m not so sure

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

