Skip to content

The 100 Most Read Bible Verses

May 21, 2009

bible-1

Biblegateway.com recently published an interesting list of the Top 100 bible verses searched on their website.  A couple of thoughts from the list:

  • Color me very surprised on #2, #6, and #7Genesis 1:1 being in the top 10 really doesn’t surprise me for obvious reasons. But Proverbs 3:5-6 is very puzzling to me.  “…in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.”  To me that sounds like a pretty challenging message. I know what it is. It must be on a coffee mug somewhere…
  • The least searched verse(es) in the bible?  It’s 1st Chronicles 23-27.  I had not read this before tonight and I am going to go with the bible searching public on this one.  It was pretty tough.  These I am guessing you can’t find on any coffee mugs…
  • Here are some verses that I would move WAY up the list:  Ephesians 2:8-9, 2nd Timothy 3:16, 2nd Corinthians 5:17, John1:1, and Romans 8: 38-39.
  • If I could add one verse (or section of verses to the list), I think it would have to be Isaiah 6 (specifically, 6:3)

Anyways, what did you think of the list?  Any verse missing that jumps out at you?  Most of our readers aren’t Bible readers so if you have no comments to give, its ok…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

