Skip to content

Lean Pockets

June 2, 2009

LP Orig Pepperoni Pizza 1.27.09

Psalm 19

……………The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul. The statutes of the LORD are trustworthy, making wise the simple. The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes. The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever.  The ordinances of the LORD are sure and altogether righteous.They are more precious than gold, than much pure gold; they are sweeter than honey, than honey from the comb. ……………….

My brother-in-law, Ryan Higgins, is an amazing grill master.  A few years ago he bought a smoker and since then he has mastered the art of smoking meat.  His delicacies include salmon, chicken, turkey, pork, ribs and beef brisket.  From my observations, it is quite a process.  He has to mix a brine, marinate the meat, and spend multiple hours smoking the meat at just the right temperature.  It’s hard work. What comes of my brother-in-law’s sacrifice, commitment, and devotion to smoking meat is nothing less than miraculous.  All who share in his created feasts taste a slice of heaven.

I have a half hour, at most, to eat lunch at work.  My consistent meal of choice is a pepperoni pizza lean pocket.  I buy them in bulk so that each pocket costs me less than $1.  It only takes about 1 minute to heat them up, and I don’t even need a plate, napkin, or utensil.  To top it off, they are low in fat so I like to think they are healthy.  So, I eat them because they are convenient, cheap, and somewhat healthy.  I don’t hate the lean pockets, but let me just say that they never fully satisfy me.  I never walk away from a lean pocket feeling well fed.

The truth of the matter is my eating habits greatly reflect my spiritual life.  The Bible tells us that we are made for God, and that in God we experience the most infinitely satisfying joy.  I don’t want to put in the hard work and time it takes to experience that feast. Rather,  I go after for much cheaper, more convenient pleasures that never leave me satisfied. I too often settle for lean pockets rather than the smoked beef brisket I was made for.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric permalink
    June 3, 2009 6:20 PM

    i’d like to point out that lean pockets take 2 minutes to cook, unless you eat them frozen

  2. andyholz1 permalink*
    June 3, 2009 9:29 PM

    Actually, if they are already thawed, they only take about 1 minute. Mine are thawed by the time much lunch hour comes around. If frozen, then you are probably correct.

Leave a Reply

