Skip to content

Gabe and the Gospel

June 22, 2009

Gabe2Months 007

John 14:1

Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

This is a picture of my son, Gabe.  He just turned 8 weeks old last Tuesday and already he is teaching me much about the Gospel.

In just 8 weeks I have noticed that he fights against what he needs and usually wants most.  Frequently, when very hungry, his anger and impatience escalate so quickly that he loses control of his physical action. Screaming, crying, flailing his limbs, and even stiff-arming against my wife’s chest. We literally have to force feed him milk, the substance that will fulfill his wants and needs, against his will.  The same occurs when he is cold.  Swinging his arms and legs about, he makes  it extremely difficult for us to dress him and provide the clothes that will make him warm.

You see, Gabe fights against what he really wants and needs; and what I’ve realized is that we do the same to our heavenly Father.  We fight against what we need most.  God says we should take a sabbath (Exodus 20:8) yet we instead fight against this by filling our time with crap.  God says we should have no other Gods before Him (Exodus 20:3) instead, we worship our jobs, our kids, our spouses, our comfort.

The Bible says I should have love, peace, patience, kindness, and joy (Galatians 5:22).  Too often I feel angered, stressed, anxious, vengeful, worried,  and discontent.  The good thing is that He is our heavenly Father, and He will force us, just like my wife and I force Gabe.  It’s the only loving thing to do.   If we would stop fighting so hard to have our way and trust God, things would move much more smoothly. Gabe’s interactions with me, his father, have brought to light the misplaced resistance that I frequently feel towards our Father.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

