Skip to content

I Called, You Answered

July 19, 2009
Dakar_2006_african_women

Let the nations be glad and sing for joy -Psalm 67:4

This week I had the privilege to share the gospel and the good news of Jesus with a close friend of mind.  For the time being, it seems to have fallen on deaf ears.  But something that this friend of mine said hit me like a ton of bricks this morning.

One of his barriers to the Gospel is he believes that faith is subjective.  To state his position basically, that people believe what they believe based on where they are from and how they are raised and that is their form of the truth.  That it basically just different means to the same end.   But is it?

I am not so sure that the lady I sat next to in church this morning would be so easily convinced of this.

As she sat clutching her new born child and singing with a great hope, her expression and smile began to illuminate my heart.  She sang these words:

My whole life
I place in your hands
God of Mercy
Humbled I bow down
In your presence at your throne

I called you answered
And you came to my rescue and
I wanna be where you are

In my life be lifted high
In our world be lifted high

In our love be lifted high

Higher and Higher!

What made the words of this womens song so significant to me?

She is from Africa. She is a rufgee that has escaped a former life of poverty, war, and death.

I can attest to the belief and truth in her eyes in Jesus and THE God as she sang her prayer.  She called.  God did answer.  He came to her rescue.  Can you imagine what it would feel like to sing those words from her perspective?  She was not singing about a country, a city, or any one place.  That was not her rescue.  Jesus Christ was her rescue.

She knew that she had it.  She was singing it over her child.

I began to weep.

My tears were mixed with bitterness and joy.  With joy for my fellow worshiper of God from around the world and for me.  Joy that God has saved us. With bitterness for my friend. And for the lie that he has been sold.

The Gospel is for the nations.  It is for my friend.  It is for the refugees of war and poverty from the other side of the world. It is for you.  And it is for me.

It is for everyone.

Tell someone about it if you believe it.   And if you aren’t telling other people about it, ask yourself if you believe it…

Leave a Reply

