Skip to content

Filthy Roman Sponge

September 24, 2009

“The soldiers also came up and mocked him. They offered him wine vinegar…” Luke 23:36

Ever wonder what is really going on in this passage?  Here is some depth of insight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 10:13 AM

    Driscoll takes some liberties with the narrative but I don’t think he’s strayed too far from the “spirit” of the texts he’s referencing… (Which seems like it’s mostly based on John’s account with a dab of Luke’s)

    I’ve (obviously?) never heard this interpretation before. And it doesn’t necessarily mean that’s how it all went down. But it does make the passage make more sense.

    I, like Driscoll mentioned, have always interpreted that passage to be an act of (mild) compassion. However, I guess this could explain why they just happened to have sponges and wine vinegar on hand at the scene. And it would fit with the rest of the events from that day.

  2. Josh H permalink
    September 28, 2009 5:24 PM

    Yeah, I’m not sure how comfortable I am with liberties being taken. I haven’t watched the whole message, just the clip, so perhaps I’m missing some context.

  3. nbliss16 permalink
    September 30, 2009 10:17 AM

    I had not heard that either and it does make sense, given the passage. I am going to lend the benefit of the doubt and trust Driscoll did his homework on that one.

Leave a Reply

